BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Best Films Of The Last Two Decades

I am currently studying motion picture development at university since I got out of the service on a medical disability and would like to conscript the boards help on a paper I am doing.

It is about the most important films of the last two decades.

I am doing a comparison to what films people see as "important" and which ones people label "The Best".

There is a massive difference in opinion and due to the wide demographic on this forum I thought it would be the best place to ask. I would rather do this than ask at a mall or something,

If you could let me know which movies you liked the best in the 80's and 90's and why, also which movie you felt was most important.

I appreciate the help or just the fact that you read this.

Many thanks again.

• Replies 171
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Warriors is a great film, one of my favs.

Pulp Fiction for me was a great film and had that cult effect that has had an influence on films afterwards with the violence and comedy combined together.

I'll have to have a hard think about which films i consider to be important, groundbreaking or the best films. Like you said opinions are going to differ from person to person.

I'd have to say

Clerks.(most important to me)

Just because i can relate to it's characters and the story and the characters actions more than i can with any other film.And some of the issues raised in the film..i.e..issues with girls, not knowing what you want/what to do in life.Hating your situation but not having the courage to change it and blaming other people for the situation.Just all strikes a chord with me.

Chasing Amy.(Best)

Again there's something about Kevin Smith's films that ring true to me.