BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Shares/ Stocks Thread

As Yoda rightly pointed out, probably best to have our own thread for this.

So come on you share magicians, all your good advice and help in here.

Im new to it all but im currently doing a paper trial of it. Im trying to get all the advice I can before I take a step into it with my money so any help is good.

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply
The price of oil is rising this morning. Tin hat time again.

Yep, went over $100 yesterday. I heard they had reduced production, therefore less fuel (when more is needed) is obviously going to push the price up.

Just think every time oil goes up $1 a day, Abbu Dhabi fella makes an extra £330m.

EDIT: Based on the end of week rally, it is no surprise that the DJIA is down... Check Asian + Pacific indices tomorrow, for a likely drop, based on the back of this movement.. (not that I am advising this) ;)

Close 22/09

NIKKEI 225 12,090.59 Up 169.73

HANG SENG INDEX 19,632.20 Up 304.47

S&P/ASX 200 INDEX 5,020.50 UP 216.40

As I mentioned yesterday, on Asian and Pacific Indicies (see above).

Close 23/09

NIKKEI 225 12,090.59 N/A - Public Holiday in Japan for the Autumnal Equinox.

HANG SENG INDEX 19,091.40 Down -540.80

S&P/ASX 200 INDEX 4,923.50 Down -97.00

Note: all other Asian Indices are down too.. ;)

From the other thread....

Theno - Mainly due to two reasons

1. Slide in USD vs EUR currency

2. (Main reason) Yesterday was the last day of trading in the Oct Oil Futures - these have now expired. Hedge positions need to be closed out..

If you notice the current price today (Nov Contracts), its back down to $107ish (admittedly still high). May go higher today

EDIT: Click me for latest price

Yep, went over $100 yesterday. I heard they had reduced production, therefore less fuel (when more is needed) is obviously going to push the price up.

Not really Hughesy, see my answer above.