BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Tropical Fish

anyone have fish? Ive had mine for nearly 12 months now and have guppies various platties etc.but the water keeps greenish not overly bad but enough to look unsightly.Ive done regurly partial changes including filters etc ,but it wont go away.could it be the lights on to much ?ive checked varios googled sites and they are all contradictory.

Hey, I am no expert at the moment but I've just started a career researching the fish immune system!

I'm guessing that it's probably the lighting, so you could keep the tank lit for 4-6 hours a day if it is being lit for more already. Another cause could be excess food in the tank?

If its neither then you can buy fish that should eat it (although didn't really work for me) or get those cleaning pads with magnets on from shop.

cheers,ive a magnet and a plecky.the glass is ok its just the water.What do you reckon is best way then a complete water gravel ornament change ,less food and less light then? The micky mouse platties and guppies are breeding for fun and the water tests are always ok as well.

Platties and Guppies always breed - we had over 60 of our own fish until a disease struck.

NOT a full water change at once. We tend to do 1 weekly water change of around 50-60% - that way the water is always of very good quality. Or you could do smaller water changes, but more regular.

Make sure you change your filters every few weeks or months and yes you need to take out ornaments & wood etc to give them a good scrub.

You shouldnt need to change your gravel. We have had the same stuff in since we got it, but because we clean it weekly with a gravel cleaner it isnt an issue.

There used to be a tropical fish shop on Whaley Range but the best one was Dave's Aquarium at Bolton, it is quite a few years ago when I used to breed fish but I still have a interest.