BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

Rovers Legends

Driftpeasant

So this thread may have, at one time, existed, but I can't use the search feature for some reason, so I thought I'd ask.

What is the consensus on Rovers "legends"? Is there one? There used to be a Greatest XI section on this site, but I can't find it now.

Off the top of my head, since I've been supporting Rovers since 1999:

Jack Walker (admittedly not a player, but...)

Brad Friedel

Tugay

The 1994-1995 squad:

Grame Le Saux

Colin Hendry

Alan Shearer

Chris Sutton

Tim Flowers

Tim Sherwood

Stuart Ripley

Mark Atkins

Henning Berg

Ian Pearce

Jason Wilcox

The Before My Time Lot:

Simon Garnet

Bob Crompton

Any other suggestions?

Derek Fazackerley. Arguably our most consistent defender in my Rovers supporting lifetime (48+ years). He was virtually a one club man and I'm pretty sure that he holds the record for the most Rovers appearances.

Not often gets a mention but Glenn Keeley has got to been in there, at Rovers for 11 years (only broke by that disastrous loan spell at Everton, two games was it? , gave a penalty away and got sent off:) ) Had him as my favourite player in the programme when I was mascot for the Sunderland home game in 1977.

A no messing central defender, oh how we could do with a couple of those now

And two players who were supposed to be past it when they came to Rovers, but as a kid I was in awe of them , David Wagstaffe (who I seem to remember had two spells at the club ) and Duncan McKenzie if ever you needed a player to hold the ball in the corner for the last 5 minutes of a game, even at Rovers he had a sublime touch.

I think first we need to agree on what a legend is....

A lot of the names mentioned above were great players - but here-today-gone- tomorrow types...

there's a difference between 'great players who have played for the Rovers' and 'Rovers legends'