BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] A study of Blackburn Rovers

I'm currently doing a study of Blackburn Rovers and wondered if you could help me with a few things.

I'm studying the how league performance affects gate attendances and over the last 10 years yours has been pretty standard i.e. as you've performed better your attendance has slightly increased and vice versa. But in 2006 you finished 6th which is the highest you've finished in the last 10 years but your average gate attendance was only 21,000 which is the lowest it's been in the last 10 years.

Just wondered what the reason for this is? Was it high ticket prices or ground redevelopment or something?

I'd appreciate any help, thanks.

I've made a graph if anyone would like to see it. Not sure how to get it onto here though.

Season before wasn't all that great which would've influenced season ticket sales.

Also I think that was just before the club significantly reduced season ticket prices.

Thanks for the reply. Attendances barely increased the season after though despite you finishing 6th the season before. But then in 2008 they increase greatly which I guess is when the ticket prices were reduced?

And apologies for my ignorance but when did the Venky's takeover and has their been a boycott of matches at any point because of them?

Thanks for the reply. Attendances barely increased the season after though despite you finishing 6th the season before. But then in 2008 they increase greatly which I guess is when the ticket prices were reduced?

And apologies for my ignorance but when did the Venky's takeover and has their been a boycott of matches at any point because of them?

Venky's bought Rovers in November 2010 (heaven forbid). I think there have been boycotts ever since later on that season, they have a lot to answer for in a drop in attendance since they have arrived.