BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

DIY Disasters!

As we've all been taking on a few more DIY projects during the last 9 months or so, a couple of recent incidents which happened to myself gave me an idea for a thread where we could share our little anecdotes and let everyone else have a good laugh at our expense. 

The idea is not to get into debates of whether someone is stupid or not as, let's be honest, most DIY disasters are as a result of stupidity somewhere along the line. Occasionally sheer incompetence, but usually stupidity!

Ok, first one for me (and bear in mind I'm an electrical engineer). I wanted to install a high level power socket & aerial outlet in the bedroom rather than having wires dangling everywhere. No problem, I've got this covered. Identified 2No wires in the loft dropping directly above a twin socket in the bedroom. Ok, that's the upstairs ring, I'll just break into that and extend down to the HL socket.

MCB off, checked the socket was dead, bingo. Wire cutters out, snip - BANG!!! WTF?. Hang on, that's a 4-core cable!!, what the hell is that for? Anyway, repaired the cable, power back on, everything seemed fine. Completed the job using a different circuit. All is well, or so I thought.

Later on that evening - "Why's there no hot water?"

"oh shit!" 

Changed the fuse on the boiler supply, still no joy. Boiler won't reset or fire up.

Basically, it'd taken out one of the quick blow fuses in the boiler which I had to get a work colleague to come & change for me the following day as he's Gas Safe - formerly CORGI - registered & yes, he did take the piss!

Moral of the story, don't assume you know what's what just because you deal with it every day, check it out properly. Undone by complacency!  ☺️

I still blame the guy that installed the supply for the boiler though as the cable routing is completely stupid & it can't possibly be my fault! 😅

• Like 1