BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Installing Wireless Usb Drivers In Linux

Hi all:

Just thought I'd cheekily ask here before hunting down an Ubuntu forum to ask.

I'm a beginner with Linux, although I have used Unix before.

Just trying to install ndisgtk so I can use a wireless usb with linux. I have 3 deb files to install. The first one isn't a problem, but the ndiswrapper utils file I think it is, we have a problem with.

It tells me the architecture the deb file supports (AMD64) is not supported by the hardware I have (i386). Is it really trying to say I have a 386Hz processor?

I have a HP (don't laugh!) pavillion HP6000, and I've checked it's a 32-bit processor, AMD64.

If anyone can help, thanks.

Bryan.

i386 is Intel hardware, I think. It's not telling you that you have a 386hz processor at least, although why it thinks you have Intel hardware I'm not too sure.

I have had ndiswrapper problems in the past and managed to overcome them, although nothing hardware related that I can remember. I'll have a think later on when I'm less busy and see if I can drag something from my memory.

You could try Googling 'ndiswrapper HP 6000', 'ndiswrapper <your wireless card model>' or type in the error message you keep receiving. In my limited Linux experience, I've always found that someone else has had the same problem somewhere, and there's usually an answer knocking around if you manage to put the right words in the right order into Google. Oddly, this is usually the most difficult part to solving a problem, when you manage to come across the right answer they're usually well explained and pretty straight forward.

I don't understand how my processor is 32-bit but it's "AMD64"???

I have been googling, I think I need a 32-bit library or something. either that or I can force the architecture, which doesn't sound too clever.