BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Manager and Coach

Okay, so we are hearing a lot that Venkys or Shebby or some mysterious person wants a coach, and not a manager.In my view, these have always been 2 totally different parts of the structure of a club in terms of overseeing a squad of players.

Im trying to get around this, as to why they insist on wanting a coach and not a manager and a coach. Is this another way of saving costs, by having somebody take training and being a motivator? In fact, ive looked at various countries, and different countries refer to the boss as a coach, and not a manager. In South Africa we have a coach, and then a General Manager. I think in the USA they also refer to it as a coach I think.

However, my understanding is that the manager is normally the one motivating the players, putting out the team on match day, doing the tactics and so forth, while the coach takes training and along with the fitness instructor keeps players healthy and in shape.

This has been the case in England since I started following Rovers, or at least from what I can remember is that there has always been a manager, assistant manager and coach

However, my understanding is that the manager is normally the one motivating the players, putting out the team on match day, doing the tactics and so forth, while the coach takes training and along with the fitness instructor keeps players healthy and in shape.

I think you've misunderstood slightly. The coach role you've described there is a regular coach, not a head coach.

Essentially it looks like we want someone to come in train the team, pick the tactics, and do all of that management side of stuff, but wouldn't have much (if any) involvment in transfers, contracts etc.