BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Personal Trainer

I am currently teaching in a college in the Manchester area and I hate it, when I signed up to start teaching I did not sign up to be teaching the 'inbred', got no brain no respect for others chavs that I have not found out consumes the entire FE sector when it comes to sports science. Out of the 40+ kids I have contact with over the week about 7 of them could be classed as decent human beings and I feel so sorry for them as they actually want to learn and with the right tools they could do something great, it's just a shame that the vast majority of 'learners' do not want them to. (Literally cannot have a learner removed without being assaulted at this college)

Anyway that is the back story to what I would like some advice on;

I have a degree in Sports Science & Coaching/Will have my PGCE in 5 months too and I am thinking of scrapping all of the teaching for a few years and starting up my own business as a personal trainer. I know I have to do a few expensive courses etc but that isn't a problem.

What I want to know, are there any personal trainers on here? Has anybody used a personal trainer on here? Know somebody who has dealt with a personal trainer? Would you consider using a personal trainer? If not, why would you not want to use one? (assuming you had no prior knowledge of training etc) I am assuming it is down to value for money as it appears that they seem to charge a lot of money for very little work which is something I do not agree with.

I want to know whether I will be able to make a decent living out of working for myself doing something I really love. I would have gone straight into this and not into teaching if I had the money to do so at the time but now I realistically can do it.

I would appreciate your advice guys as I know a lot of you are really into your training etc.etc. :)