BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Torrent Troubles

Hoping someone might be able to help as I'm pulling my hair out.

I've downloaded utorrent but i'm having a mare with ports.

utoorent is stating the port isn't open. I've followed the instructions to set up a static IP, I've followed the step bt step instructions to tweak my Huwai router to open the port but it's still not happening. I just don't know what to do next.

I'm not a techie and this is my first attempt at torrents.

Ricky I think there are sites that tell you exactly how to port forward? Check them out 1st.

If it doesnt work, get rid of utorrent fully and then re-download it. It has happened for me before and this fixed it.

Ricky,

- Have you made sure that Windows firewall is allowing the app? Go to Options > Preferences > Connection, check "Add µTorrent to Windows Firewall."

- If you are running Norton or any other kind of anti-virus/spyware/Internet Security etc. program make sure it is allowing uTorrent access to the port

- It is also quite common for port forwarding checking sites to incorrectly report open/closed ports because they are checking the transparent proxy many ISP's force you to use - in laymans terms they are looking for open ports on the wrong computer, your ports may be open but it is not checking those specific ports. Thus, uTorrent will still work with ports reportedly closed, just try downloading something and you'll see it still works.

Try the above and if it's still not working let me know. Stick with uTorrent, it is very reliable - once it's working!

Hi RDU