BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] MBAs

Hi!

As we have a fair few business minds of different perspectives I was wondering if anyone had a moment to give a hand making a very important (and expensive!) decision.

I have worked for a small technology consultancy in a technical position for the last three years . I enjoy it to an extent but I have a bit of a glass ceiling as I do not have an engineering or computer science degree necessary to really advance. Plus computer systems leave me a little cold, while my primary interest is in business strategy, economics and business development.

I have a good degree, a first from Edinburgh in History and Literature, but while this shows I have a bit of a work ethic and can analyse information and create coherent arguments, it lacks hard business credibility. So as I'm nearing 30 I thought I need to do something to show that I can perform in a senior business role and change career direction.

The plan I have hatched is to do an MBA part time at the Open University over two years. While this doesn't have the cache of London Business School or Harvard etc, nor will build the sort of of network that comes with these high prestige courses, it does on the flip side (providing I do well) show that I am dedicated and focussed as I will be working full time and studying in parallel. Plus OU MBA is triple accredited and affordable (LBS is c. 30k for the course. OU is around 7k).

So I guess my questions are:-

*For Business Management/Strategy positions do those on here who have an influence on hiring, held those positions, or have/had experience of them (working for/managing these roles), think an OU MBA would boost my chances of landing a position?

*Those who have taken an MBA (OU or anywhere else) feel it has made a difference to their careers? How much and in what aspect? Was it worth the time and money?