BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Interview Advice

I have a telephone interview on Friday for a job that I really want. Apparently it lasts for 30 minutes, which seems a long time for a telephone interview, and as I've never done one before I'm pretty nervous. Does anyone know what kind of things to expect in this kind of interview? Apparently it's a 'competency' based interview, with some people then being asked for a full interview after that. I don't think they're necessarily wanting work related experiences because it's a uni-alternative job (i.e. 18-mid 20s) so I'm a little bit stumped about what I'm going to say. This is the only info I've been given:

"As mentioned previously, this will be a competency based telephone interview, which will last approximately 30 minutes.

You will be asked to provide examples of your skills and experiences, which relate to specific competencies such as teamwork and communication. In preparation for the interview, you should think about occasions when you have faced difficult situations and be prepared to explain how you overcame these challenges."

I've always played football and captained a few sides, so would that go down ok for teamwork skills experiences etc, or is not 'work-related' enough? The last bit especially has got me stuck, I can't think of anything to say for that. There must be a lot more covered in 30 minutes as well, does anyone have any ideas what they might say?

I hate telephones at the best of times, so I'm trying to prepare as best as I can for this so that I don't mess it up.

I'd suggest any school projects where you were working with a group. Generally, for entry level jobs, they want to make sure you present yourself well. Speak clearly and try to be personable, don't add umm, uhhhh, like, etc. to your sentences.

Love interviews – they are easy!