BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] The New Business Aptitude Test

I assume that by aptitude tests that you mean what would be called in the UK ability tests? Administering these and personality tests was one of my professional roles when I worked for a living. No doubt they will be using a US provider so I can't give you detailed advice but I would suggest you have a look at www.shldirect.com. Saville & Holdsworth are the UK's leading provider of ability tests - they do work in the US as well. The site I've mentioned gives some explanation as to why they are used and how they work and gives some practice tests for you to have a go at. What sort of tests they will administer depends on the type of role that you are going for although they are likely to use at least verbal and numerical reasoning tests anyway.

SHL seem to be behind most of the aptitude tests I've come across. The 'big 4' accountancy firms use SHL as part of their graduate assessments and I know of at least 10-15 other companies who use SHL (including Accenture and Centrica).

Try their timed practice tests here:

http://www.shldirect.com/practice_tests.html

When you do the tests they will give you a score but won't feedback which questions you got wrong. I found it useful to go through each of the tests again and take screenshots of every question, so i could run through it in my own time, get all the questions right and understand the concepts being tested.

SHL seem to be behind most of the aptitude tests I've come across. The 'big 4' accountancy firms use SHL as part of their graduate assessments and I know of at least 10-15 other companies who use SHL (including Accenture and Centrica).

That's certainly true in the UK but I'm not sure how prominent they are in the US market. Still, I would expect whatever organisation is used by BPF's prospective employers will have tests along similar lines.

Really appreciate the advice.