BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Brazil World Cup Troubles - Stadium collapse?

The bloody soil isn't stable, and they're talking about getting it finished in time? I'm no structural engineer, but isn't (lethally) poor foundations a pretty good reason to abandon the whole project and put the opener somewhere else?

Guest Norbert

When the Swiss authorities tell you to clean up your act or else, then you know an organisation is dodgy. The effing Swiss for goodness sake!

Oh, and a school and community facilities were knocked down to make room for the new Maracana. Qatar will have enough Indian/Nepali slave labour to make the stadiums safe though. They'll probably use their bodies as mortar.

The bloody soil isn't stable, and they're talking about getting it finished in time? I'm no structural engineer, but isn't (lethally) poor foundations a pretty good reason to abandon the whole project and put the opener somewhere else?

I am.

Not necessarily the soil that is the issue, more likely that the foundations for the tower crane weren't adequate (which is a disgrace in itself). If there was a wider issue with the soil then you would expect more damage to occur than one crane collapsing (as far as I've seen they are reporting no damage to the mai structure).

I am.

Not necessarily the soil that is the issue, more likely that the foundations for the tower crane weren't adequate (which is a disgrace in itself). If there was a wider issue with the soil then you would expect more damage to occur than one crane collapsing (as far as I've seen they are reporting no damage to the mai structure).

I see...would that not ordinarily merit some thorough investigation to be sure though, before proceeding? What with people having died? Don't think I'd want to put my life in their hands now...

Guest Norbert