BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Getting Your Euros

I'm no expert and cannot offer financial advice at all, but aren't there fears that the pound will weaken closer to the referendum over fears of an exit. Which means it would be better changing money now.

But who knows what will happen, which to be fair, was TJ's point.

• Backroom

Buying currency is a nightmare you never know when is best and I tend to buy at the worse time.

I usually take some cash bought in intervals and then a Halifax clarity card for the rest

About 12 months ago would have been the best time. Now the exchange rate will be tied up with the referendum until June. Conventional theory would say that the pound would strengthen a bit if the UK decides to stay in the EU. It might go the other way if we vote to leave, but I suspect much of that downside is already in the current rate. I think if I was travelling after the referendum I would leave it until after then but who knows - it could go either way.

TJ's advice is OK, but even better is to get a Euro currency card. Load some euros on to it before you go and then just use the card either for cash or purchases, in both cases without any fees.

About 12 months ago would have been the best time. Now the exchange rate will be tied up with the referendum until June. Conventional theory would say that the pound would strengthen a bit if the UK decides to stay in the EU. It might go the other way if we vote to leave, but I suspect much of that downside is already in the current rate. I think if I was travelling after the referendum I would leave it until after then but who knows - it could go either way.

TJ's advice is OK, but even better is to get a Euro currency card. Load some euros on to it before you go and then just use the card either for cash or purchases, in both cases without any fees.

Getting a pre paid card .