BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

John Whitney RIP ...

On 16/07/2022 at 01:03, sympatheticclaret said:

I was really saddened to learn of the passing of John Whitney, who worked for Rovers for over 20 years, following his retirement from Lancashire Police. 

John and I first met in 1978 when I started playing Under 16's Rugby at Blackburn RUFC, and he was Chairman of the mini/junior section. At 6'4" and an ex 2nd Row forward, he was always interested in how I was doing, and was the first to buy me a beer after my 1st XV debut in the 2nd Row, aged 21. Anyone involved in amateur sport be it Football, Cricket or Rugby, knows how much Clubs rely on unpaid volunteers, and John put countless hours in as a coach, referee, fixture secretary and later as the Club's Representative at the Lancashire RFU. He had been a " Vice-President " there since 1981.

He initially worked for Rovers as a " Steward ", but basically it was his role to prevent any trouble in the tunnel area. Even in his later years, John was an imposing figure and I suspect he defused a few situations. He had a wicked sense of humour and could be gloriously " un-PC " on occasion ...

Rest in Peace, John  😢

I didn't know John, but suspect he will have known the late Ted Cooper, if he was prominent at Blackburn RUFC.

He was a teacher when I was at school and was rugby mad.

• Like 2

2 hours ago, lraC said:

I didn't know John, but suspect he will have known the late Ted Cooper, if he was prominent at Blackburn RUFC.

You sound like a St Edmund Arrowsmith old boy like myself.

• Like 1

7 hours ago, lraC said:

E.V. Cooper ( Ted ) was 1st XV Captain from 1971-73, and again for Blackburn Rugby Club's Centenary season in 1977-78. He lived in Brinscall and was a fine attacking Full-Back with a wicked sidestep. Those who remember him will know that he was taken far too young by Multiple Sclerosis .