BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Blur & Oasis

When I studied at york university, I was once asked which of Oasis and Blur I preferred and I answered Oasis. The reply I got was something like this:

"but that's a working class band... I listen to Blur because they are a middle class band"

This isn't me trying to start a discussion about which of those bands are musically better or me trying to have a go at a slightly different culture, but rather why the class background of the band matters to some British listeners?

And has it traditionally been that way, that musical taste has been divided by class in England?

Interesting discussion Sverre. I guess being from Norway you are (or were) not yet altogether familiar with the British press. I remember the whole Oasis = working class vs Blur = middle class argument as well but I think it was something bandied about by the Southern press to try and polarise fans and create what we now commonly know as "fanboys". There was an intense rivalry between the two bands, further inflamed by the whole "Roll With It" vs "Country House" battle for number one around the time I was recovering from a 3-month-long celebratory binge :D