BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Glazer Set For Utd

• Replies 462
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not particularly well informed when it comes to this matter and the implications, but according to the BBC, Glazer has reportedly secured the shares of McManus and Magnier, giving him 59% of the club's shares, and has thus launched a formal ?790m takeover bid.

Now I'm no expert, but does this mean it has to be accepted? And, if so, what are the realistic implications?

The takeover doesn't have to be accepted but Glazer was legally obliged to make the offer once he bought more than 30% of the shares.

According the the Shareholders United web-site, Glazer needs to secure 75% of the shares before he can turn the company private. So, if he gets another 16% of the shares it'll be fun and games down at OT this summer.

Is there any possible way that this could turn out to be a good thing for Manchester United?

To be fair to Glazer, he's been very successful with American football teams (I'm sure our American chums can fill us in here). However, as I understand it, he's achieved his success at the expense of the fans by hiking up ticket prices and basically selling the soul of the club / team.

As Man U doesn't have a soul anyway though I'm not sure what he'll do at United.

Is there any possible way that this could turn out to be a good thing for Manchester United?

The thing that needs to be remembered is that Manchester United are only profitable because they are good on the pitch. If they arent performaing on the pitch, they have serious worries financially.

I certainly cant see Glazer slashing the transfer budget for example.

There's a lesson in there for Rovers!

Jack was considering turning the club public, I'm thankful that he didn't.