2011/12 (19 games played) 22 45

Man Utd

Wolves (relegated)

2010/11 (19 games played) 24 43

Blackpool (relegated)

Newcastle

WBA

Wolves (17th in League)

Total Goals 84 (1.2 goals per game) 144 (2.05 goals per game)

Absolutely crazy figures really. It's difficult because it spans 2 different leagues but what stands out to me is that we can't beat anyone away from home unless they are relegation fodder. Barring that ridiculous win at Old Trafford, a win at Newcastle when we were their bogey team and had won 4 on the bounce at their place, and then a good win at WBA, the only teams we have beaten in 4 odd years are teams that placed in the bottom 5 of the respective leagues. That is absulutely woeful!!

The goal figures tell a story too. I am no expert, but reckon scoring 1.2 goals a game away from home aint too bad. A lot of teams stuggle to score at all sometimes. You would think going at a goal a game away from home would yield some pretty good away form.

But then we have the goals against column. Jesus christ, being the wrong side of the 2 goal mark is abysmal, and to me signifies where the blame lies and it is clearly the defence. All this talk about our lack of creativity, and not having enough flair players, and should we play 2 up top etc etc. It is all pointless to me unless we can do something about the way we leak goals first and foremost.

I know I will get lambasted but if that means going Big Sam style, pretty negative, and battling out a few 0-0 draws away from home then so be it. At least that would keep us ticking over with the odd point here and there and give us something to build on. I know it's miserable for away supporters and all that, but we simply cannot afford to continue down a 2 goal a game route if we are to even stay in this league, let alone think about anything more ambitious.