BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] A New Rovers Logo

So I design things for a living, and I've always wanted to rework my beloved rovers mark. I finally got round to it, and would like to share with you all what I would do if it were up to me.

traffordroverslogo.jpg

Nice, simple, and elegant. I've played around with some handwritten scripts for the Arte et Labore on the ribbon, but haven't settled on one yet. You can see a couple examples of it in the logo color options section and in the sketches.

The most important thing to me about a rovers logo is tradition. The current logo (about 30 years old) has a side view of the lancashire rose which is pretty clunky and awkward.

The logo before this, that ran in the 70's and 80's focused on a more graphic and traditional representation of the rose. I personally think this works much better and I did this for my version.

The ribbon in my version comes from the first logo, introduced in 1960.

A successful logo not only works in multiple colors, but MUST work in one color - something that the current logo struggles with.

While the current badge holds a place in most rovers fan's hearts, there is no questioning that it is dated.

If new ownership comes in and wants to invest, then why not help the marketing of the club by freshening up the look.

I hope i didn't offend any of you by suggesting the logo be changed!

All the best

Nathan

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I love it. However, I've only known one logo through the entire time I have supported the club and it holds a great deal of sentiment for me.

I think you should contact the club though. I would buy perhaps a polo shirt or a T-Shirt with that logo on it. Very smart, great work.

Not sure why it is considered 'foreign' to change logos.

The current design only appeared in 1989 and to me, that's where it belongs.