BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Nottingham Forest v Rovers 3/10/12

I've had plenty of time to write this review following my sacking at wernham hogg to be replaced by a bald scottish chap. Joking aside, I have been a member of this website for the best part of a decade, i lived in nottingham as a student for 5 years, and so I thought it was about time i did a preview. As a student, I went to watch both Nottm Forest and Notts County regularly. I deliberately haven't mentioned kean etc in the preview given its covered in every other topic.

History of Nottingham Forest

Nottingham Forest were formed in 1865, I believe making them the 3rd oldest existing professional football club in England. (Notts County 1862; Stoke 1863) Surprisingly they are not one of the founder members of the football league.

Their record defeat is a 9-1 loss to Rovers at Ewood on the 10th February 1937.

Their finest hour is undoubtedly back to back European Cup Wins in 1979 and 1980 under the management of the legendary Brian Clough. They are the only European Cup / Champions League winners who currently play outside their respective countries top flight division, and the only one who has played in their 3rd tier.

The Nottingham derby with Notts County is the oldest existing derby between the 92 football league teams, and one of the oldest in the world. (Oldest existing derby is Sheffield FC v Hallam FC). Do not refer to Forest as 'Notts' Forest, a mistake i have made in the past! This upsets them. Notts County are the team of Nottinghamshire, whilst Forest are the team of Nottingham.

Forests' main rivals are obviously Derby County.

Modern History of Forest