BRFCS

BY THE FANS, FOR THE FANS
SINCE 1996
Proudly partnered with TheTerraceStore.com

[Archived] Rovers V Stoke

CrazyIvan

It's time for the Stoke preview and it's my first attempt at doing this so here goes...

We have a damn good record at home since Sam took over and it started last year with the arrival of Stoke. That day we won 3 - 0 and that one game helped wipe very recent memories of the diabolical reign of he of, erm you know, the tennis match eyes, erm you know. Since this marks something of a landmark game (being the return of the team against whom Sam started his reign) I thought I'd take a quick look at his home record. Since his arrival Sam's complete league record at home is pretty impressive; 9 wins 6 draws and 2 losses. Taking this seasons home record it is even better with 4 wins, 1 draw and 1 loss.

So we're facing a team who we seem to have been likened to a fair amount which I think is unfair but the daily rags have that lazy journo thing going on and repeat crap ad infinitum. I asked my sister-in-law, who lives in Stoke, if she could get one of her more erudite colleagues to answer a few questions. A fella named Steve Simcock did the honours and did a pretty decent job if you ask me...

Your second season and you've won 4 at home and once away at Spurs with 4 losses and 4 draws. How do you think your season is going and do you think you'll suffer any 'second season syndrome'?

Generally happy, but frustrated at not being able to understand team selections at times when £5m Tuncay constantly warms the bench. Can't see us suffering 2nd season syndrome as there seem to be a number of teams appear worse than us and Blackburn.

All your local rivals have gradually sunk down the league tables while yours is a remarkable success story, why do you think that is and what do you think will happen to your local rivals long-term?

That is just normality being restored!! They will be turned into a Tesco Extra (joke)